The Seasons of Kat Superfly











{January 22, 2006}   Sanctity of Life Sunday

Today, churches all over the country observed the sanctity of human life.

My church back home celebrated life with a Baby Dedication service and I always enjoyed those. The daddys and momas holding on to their little ones asking the Lord to show His favor on their little lives. 

At First Baptist of Orlando there was no baby dedication but there was a powerful word from the Lord about why our lives are sacred. Is it the size of the life in question, or it’s level of development? Is it the environment it is in, or is the degree of dependency it has? No. Our lives are sacred not because of who we are but because of Who created us.

13 For you created my inmost being;
       you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

 14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
       your works are wonderful,
       I know that full well.

 15 My frame was not hidden from you
       when I was made in the secret place.
       When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,

 16 your eyes saw my unformed body.
       All the days ordained for me
       were written in your book
       before one of them came to be.

Psalm 139:13-16

Pastor David Uth said something this morning that I just had to write down…”Abortion has been made a political bean bag but in reality, abortion isn’t a political issue at all. We are fighting for the right of every democrat baby, republican baby, and independent baby.” I love the truth in that!

For a year and a half, before I moved in September, I volunteered at the Crisis Pregnancy Center in Columbus, GA every Thursday afternoon. As I sat in church this morning I thought of Chrissy, Jackie, and Tiffany.

Chrissy was the first abortion minded girl I counseled. She was 18 and scared and I bonded with her in a way I never allowed myself to with any other girl. By the time she left the center she had decided to keep her baby. She was excited and I was excited for her. The very next day we got a call at the center. It was Chrissy…she had lost her baby.

Jackie was a 17 year old rebellious teenager who grew up in a Christian home. She came in the center thinking she might be pregnant. Even though her test was negative we sat in that counseling room for 2 hours while she talked and I listened. Sometimes I think the Lord sent her in there just so she could talk to someone.

Tiffany was one of the last girls I saw at the center. She was 26 and she was married. That is all I knew when I went in the room and I thought…”This will be a good one, she’s married!” Well she was pregnant with her best friend’s baby and her husband was in Iraq. She was set on an abortion. She already a little boy and since she had already had an abortion years earlier, what was the big deal. Yet God sent her to us anyway. As she left the center, Tiffany gave me no reason to believe that she would keep her baby.

I have no idea where these three ladies are, but I will always remember their names and I will never forget their faces. Chrissy’s excitement, Jackie’s defiance, and Tiffany’s wounded and haunted face. I do know, however, that the God of all Creation holds them in His hands and loves them unconditionally. He has a plan for their lives and I pray that they tap into that plan and the love that He so desperately longs to give them.

This morning I also thought of the sweet ladies that work on the front lines back home. Mrs. Carol, Robyn, Chris, Anne, and Beth…my Thursday afternoon crew. They taught me so much about the Lord and trusting Him through the valleys of life. I miss you so much and I pray God’s blessings on you and yours for the work you do.

 

Carol Henschel says:

Kat, Tiffany called and came back in to the center last week. She had aborted her last child but said the counselor told her we would be willing to help her at any time in the future, no matter what she decided about her baby. Her life is still a tragic mess but at least she is seeking HIM without even knowing it.

You impacted her with the Truth and with His love reflected in you…thanks for being here. We miss you.

Carol



Amy says:

This was so moving…



Kathryn says:

Mrs. Carol – You are kidding me! That is so amazing! Thank you so much for sharing. I miss you too.

I love you, Amy!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
